Tags

, , , ,

One of my yoga teachers says that the best teacher is “alive and well inside.”  I love this idea because it’s so deceptively simple.  Or…wait, is it deceptively complicated?

I guess what I think this quote means is that what if, intuitively, we already know all that we need to know and our job is to access or tap into that knowledge?  I thank all the yoga teachers who are helping me do this.

Another practice that teaches me more than I ever thought possible is talking with my children.  So, in honor of all teachers everywhere, check out the following conversation I had with my kids.  Be ready to have your mind blown!

Me: Who would you want to be your teacher?

Alex (7 years old):  Frankenstein.

Isabella (10 years old): George Washington to teach me fractions. Harry Potter to teach me how to fight against evil.

Me: What would Frankenstein teach you?

Alex: Long division, cause I don’t really get long division.  It’s confusing

Me: How come Frankenstein could teach you long division?

Alex: He’s good at math.

Me: How do you know if a teacher is a good teacher?

Alex: A good teacher is kind.

Isabella: A good teacher does not whip a student or smack them with a ruler when they don’t know something.

(WTF?!?)

Me: Do you think Papa is a good teacher?

Alex: Yes! Because he’s a good father and does nice things for us.

Isabella: Yes! He’s kind and he teaches us lessons.  He isn’t really that mean. Unless you get in a lot of trouble.  He’s not really that mean.  He’s able to talk to me about weird things.

Me: Do you think I am a good teacher?

Alex: Yes… but I can’t think of any reasons why.  [After 5 minutes] Because you take us to the arcade and let us buy treats.

Isabella: Yes… Because you take me to the mall and get ice cream and we can hang out together. And you buy me stuff from the mall. Like you give me $30 and I can buy whatever I want.  And you let me go to sleepovers and parties.  And you sign us up for summer camp.

(I love the fact that they equate teaching with parenting, because isn’t that the truth! But what’s up with saying the only reason I’m a good teacher/parent is because I buy them stuff?)

Me: What do I teach?

Alex: I don’t know.

Isabella: Something about bodies.  I have no idea.

(I actually teach writing.)

Me: What does Papa teach?

Alex: We don’t go to his school so we don’t know. He teaches about zombies.

Isabella: I don’t know.  I don’t think he’s teaching about zombies.  This summer he’s teaching about vampires and monsters.

(He actually teaches writing.)

Me: Do you want to be a teacher?

Alex: Yes. Because I like teaching. I like teaching math, and words, and science, and fractions, and I think that’s it.

Isabella:  Uhhh…no. Or maybe yes. I don’t know. I’d rather be a dentist.

Today’s lesson:  We all need time to integrate the lessons we learn from our teachers. Note to self: remember that even though the children hear me talk about my job on a daily basis, they apparently need years to integrate that information.

Please excuse all typos and terseness, I was up late watching the Kardashians.

