Tags

, , , , , ,

Note:  Generally, I see the world through sarcastic humor.  Much like Chandler Bing on Friends, humor is my coping mechanism.  But at a writing workshop this weekend (which I’ll write about later), Anne Lamott reminded us that humor can often mask the real feelings, thoughts, experiences that live within us.  So in honor of her words, this post is a little more serious (and maybe less entertaining) than I’m used to.  Bear with me as I stretch my writing wings!

Recently I was re-reading an article discussing yoga as art (the article has some great pictures) and it got me thinking about how our society defines art and how we define yoga.  Now, I know very little about art and, to be honest, I’m just not that into it.  I have never chosen to go to a museum or an art gallery and I just can’t see why some paintings are so popular while others aren’t.

I much prefer to walk around and people watch or go to the beach and stare at the sea thinking artistic thoughts.

Thinking artistic thoughts

Thinking artistic thoughts

I guess what I’m saying is that I appreciate the art that is living and present in our daily lives.

Our bodies are living art.

When I head to the mat today, I will remember this as I grunt into an arm balance or “relax” into pigeon pose.

What about you?  How would you define art?  Can yoga be artistic?

Please excuse all typos and terseness: I BBQed last night and ate too much potato salad.

