Tags

, , , , ,

“The things other people have put into my head, at any rate, do not fit together nicely, are often useless and ugly, are out of proportion with one another, are out of proportion with life as it really is outside my head.”
― Kurt VonnegutBreakfast of Champions

One of the reasons I practice yoga and meditation is to gain some sort of awareness of my own thoughts.  Coming to the mat and sitting still gives me the opportunity to press pause, to focus in on the constant internal chatter, and to observe my thoughts.  This is the hardest part of yoga (although squeezing into my ever shrinking yoga pants and sports bra is a close second) — to sit still and just observe.

Flickr-Scott Schumacher

Flickr-Scott Schumacher

Mostly what I’ve observed is that my thoughts are all over the place–seriously.

Within any 30 second time frame I’ve no doubt thought about what to make for dinner, what I should be doing instead of sitting here, when am I going to the grocery store, who will pick up the kids from camp today, I need to take the dog for a walk, I should start packing for our upcoming move, I need to take my vitamin, I must make sure to drink a veggie smoothie today, I have to write more, exercise more, read more, Get off Facebook, I need to read more blogs, what am I going to write about today, my hip hurts, I should almost be done with this meditation, right? Right?

I can barely handle my own thoughts–which are often useless and ugly reflections of who I think I need to be–so why would I want to know what other people are thinking?

Am I the only one who has no desire to know what you are thinking when I’m talking to you?  Would you want to know what others are thinking when you’re talking to them?

 

 

